Facebook Security

      36

by Josh Kirschner on May 25, 2021in News, Computers & Software, Computer Safety và Support, Blog, Facebook, Privacy :: 65 comments
segala.info editors independently Đánh Giá products. To help tư vấn our mission, we may earn affiliate commissions from link contained on this page.

Bạn đang xem: Facebook security


A Facebook scam that has been circulating for years seems lớn be making a comebaông xã. And if you fall for it, you’ll have sầu your Facebook login info stolen by the scammers, who can then haông xã your account and use it for a variety of nefarious purposes.

The scam works by tricking Facebook users inlớn clicking a link to lớn a video. The video clip will often have some variation of “Is this you?” or “Did you make this video?” in the mô tả tìm kiếm khổng lồ pique your interest, và will likely come from one of your friends (who already fell for this scam và had their credentials stolen).

If you clichồng on the liên kết, you’ll be taken khổng lồ a fake Facebook login page with a message about confirming your information before you can access the đoạn phim. It is pretty obvious the page is nhái if you notice the URL at the top. But if you"re not paying attention & you enter your info here, you’ve just given the scammers what they need to take over your account.

*

As a final insult, you won’t be taken to the Clip (which never existed in the first place), but dumped into a spammy affiliate ad network for NSFW games, sketchy ứng dụng downloads & survey scams. I’ve sầu seen a few valid apps, too, such as Norton Secure VPN on Google Play, but these companies have no part in the scam (after I notified Symantec, Norton’s parent company, about the app’s inclusion, a spokesperson told me “Upon learning of this issue, we worked with our di động advertising partner to lớn quickly identify và blackdanh sách the bad actor responsible for this threat. We are also working to lớn identify consumers who may have been impacted lớn help them with any residual effects.”)

*

The best course of action if you get one of these Clip liên kết from a friend is lớn not click it & notify your frikết thúc by phone or tin nhắn, if possible, that their trương mục may have been compromised. It’s also possible the Clip was sent from a friend’s cloned Facebook tài khoản that a scammer used lớn frikết thúc you in the past.

If you made the mistake of entering your credentials on that fake login page, you should immediately change your Facebook password before the scammers have sầu a chance to get in. This would also be an excellent time to lớn consider setting up Two-factor authentication for Facebook so you won’t thất bại access to lớn your tài khoản if you fall for another phishing scam in the future.

Xem thêm: Script Html Hack Password Fb 2021, Code Hack Nick Facebook, Cara Hack Password Facebook Dengan Kode Html

And if the scammers have sầu already taken control of your Facebook tài khoản, you’ll need khổng lồ go through Facebook’s account recovery process to regain access.

So how come all the reports of exploits where people didn"t log in? Here"s what I think may be happening:

1) People did log in, but it"s such a natural action for them that they don"t even remember that they did.

2) Your trương mục was already compromised, either through a previous phishing attempt or because you have sầu weak password security that allowed an attacker lớn access your trương mục through a data breach from another source.

3) These requests are coming from cloned accounts

4) You didn"t log in, but did click on a malware download (e.g., giả Flash update to view video) that compromised your system.

For more insight on what is happening, go to lớn your Facebook Settings > Security và Login lớn see where và when you have sầu been logged into your Facebook account.

If I uncover any new information about malware associated with this scam, I will update the article.